http://www.tu-braunschweig.de http://sfb578.tu-braunschweig.de
Management
Members
Aims
Project Areas
Publications
Press
Prizes
Dates
Contact
Imprint
 
deutsch

B7 Micromechanic properties of filamentous fungi

(Kwade/Kampen)

Project B7 (Kwade) focuses on two major topics: One the one hand adhesion forces between spores of the filamentous fungus Aspergillus niger are to be measured. On the other hand forces and tensions which lead to a hyphae breakage are to be determined.
Measurement of the adhesive forces will be realized using an atomic force microscope which is combined with an inverted light microscope (figure). By this means information about the morphological development at the beginning of the cultivation are to be gained. In this connection the attachment of a spore to the cantilever and to the substrate is the most challenging task. A simulation of the deagglomeration of the spores due to fluidic stress will complete this part of the project.


Measurement of the breakage forces will be carried out using a nanoindenter. Thus, it is aimed to gain information about the cell wall mechanical properties. This is an important issue as the cell wall is mainly responsible for the resistance of the hyphae to breakage. Furthermore, tensile tests with single hyphae shall be established. The breakage of hyphae during cultivation due to shear stress shall be simulated. In this connection the experimentally determined breaking forces are to be used as an input parameter. Those investigations aim to predict the morphologic development of the fungus.

<< back

http://www.tu-braunschweig.de http://sfb578.tu-braunschweig.de
Geschäftsführung
Mitglieder
Ziele
Projektbereiche
Publikationen
Presse
Preise
Termine
Kontakt
Impressum
 
english version

B7 Mikromechanische Eigenschaften filamentöser Pilze

(Kwade/Kampen)

Das Teilprojekt B7 (Kwade) hat zwei Schwerpunkte: Zunächst die Messung der Haftkräfte von Sporen des filamentösen Pilzes Aspergillus niger mittels Rasterkraftmikroskopie und im weiteren Verlauf des Projekts die Untersuchung der Kräfte und Spannungen, die zum Bruch der Hyphen notwendig sind.

Die Messungen der Haftkräfte erfolgt mittels eines Rasterkraftmikroskops, das mit einem Inversmikroskop kombiniert wurde (siehe Bild). Sie sollen Aufschluss über das Wachstums- und Aufwuchsverhalten zu Beginn einer Kultivierung geben. Die größte Herausforderung bei diesem Vorhaben ist das Anbringen der Sporen am Cantilever sowie die Befestigung der Sporen am Substrat. Abgerundet wird das Projekt durch eine Simulation der Desagglomeration der Sporen durch die Strömung

.

Die Messungen der Bruchkräfte sollen mit einem Nanoindenter durchgeführt werden. Ziel ist die Messung der mechanischen Eigenschaften von der Zellwand selbst, da sie den Hauptwiderstand beim Bruch bildet. Ferner sollen Methoden etabliert werden, die Zugversuche an einzelnen Hyphen erlauben. Mit dem Wissen über die notwendigen Bruchkräfte soll der Bruch von Hyphen aufgrund der bei der Kultivierung auftretenden Scherkräfte simuliert werden, um das Wachstumsverhalten auch in diesem Abschnitt der Kultivierung vorhersagen zu können.

<< zurück zum Überblick