http://www.tu-braunschweig.de http://sfb578.tu-braunschweig.de
Management
Members
Aims
Project Areas
Publications
Press
Prizes
Dates
Contact
Imprint
 
Zur deutschen Version

B3 Influence of the environome on the morphology and productivity of filamentous fungi (Aspergillus niger)

(Hempel/Krull)

In various biological processes, filamentous fungi like Aspergillus niger are used for the production of biotechnological substances due to their secretion efficiency. In submerged cultivation, the productivity of these microorganisms is highly dependent on the morphological characteristics, either as freely dispersed mycelia or as distinct pellets of aggregated biomass (Fig. 1). Mycelial growth of filamentous fungi is linked with procedural disadvantages, for instance a high viscosity of the cultivation broth and therefore a low nutrient supply due to insufficient mixing. In comparison, cultivation broths with distinct pellets show Newtonian flow behaviour, but disadvantages related to a limited nutrient availability within the core of the biopellets can occur. Hence, in every biotechnological process, the optimal morphology varies due to specific product properties and cannot be generalised. The morphological characteristics of fungi are exceedingly influenced by the environome consisting of the physicochemical, especially the pH-value, and fluid dynamic cultivation conditions inside the bioreactor.

 

Fig. 1: Different morphological characteristics of Aspergillus niger (volumetric power input P/V = 100 W m-3), a) biopellet at pH 5,5 after a cultivation period of 32 h, b) free dispersed mycelia at pH 3 after 24 h, c) morphology after an initial growth at pH 3 for 8 h, subsequent pH-shift to pH 5,5 and further cultivation for 24 h
 

At present, chemical engineering as well as molecular biology methods and results of the former subprojects B2 (Hempel/Horm) and B3 (Hempel/Krull) regarding the influence of the environome on the morphogenesis of the filamentous mould A. niger and protein production should be merged within the current project B3 (Krull/ Hempel). The superior objective is a holistic model of the cultivation process as well as the optimisation of protein synthesis and secretion in biological processes with filamentous microorganisms. Based on intracellular reactions up to physicochemical and fluid dynamic phenomena at a macroscopic level, which determine the fungal morphology, the morphogenesis of mycelial growth and pellet formation via the previous analysed primary, secondary and possible further aggregation steps ought to be completely covered by population balancing and verified by different particle size analysis techniques.

Furthermore, parallels of the well studied non-biological clay-polymer-floc-system to A. niger should be drawn to gain insights of the mechanical forces which may affect the biomass. For this purpose, previous simulation methods and data of fluid dynamics within the bioreactor, which are generated with Computional Fluid Dynamics (CFD) and verified by Particle Image Velocimetry (PIV) (Fig. 2), ought to be linked to the shear stress of the examined clay-polymer-floc-system. The resulting integral data of the mechanical forces are to be correlated with local CFD-data to obtain a fluiddynamic model of shear stress of filamentous microorganisms in stirred tank reactors. Moreover, the dynamic processes of growth, aggregation and breakup during submerged cultivations ought to be connected by population balancing.

 

Fig. 2: Comparison of simulation data (CFD, coloured area scheme)
and PIV data (contour lines):
Turbulent kinetic energy (TKE) of a stirrer blade plane
 

In addition, protein synthesis and secretion as well as the gene expression of stress and morphology markers is analysed and quantified by real time-PCR, enzyme activity tests, fluorescence measurement or ELISA assays on a molecular level, respectively. Based on these transcription, translation and secretion data of production, bottlenecks within the complex production path from gene to product should be identified. Macroscopic observed growth phenomena as well as growth abnormality and limitations should be predicted by gene expression data of morphogenesis markers. Furthermore, a cooperation with the subprojects B4 (Jahn/Nörtemann/Jänsch) and B9 (Münch/Schomburg) aims for advanced models of intracellular processes including the complex production path from gene to product which then could be fused with the fluid dynamic models.


<< back

http://www.tu-braunschweig.de http://sfb578.tu-braunschweig.de
Geschäftsführung
Mitglieder
Ziele
Projektbereiche
Publikationen
Presse
Preise
Termine
Kontakt
Impressum
 
english version

B3 Einfluss des Environoms auf die Morphologie und Produktbildung filamentöser Pilze (Aspergillus niger)

(Hempel/Krull)

Filamentös wachsende Mikroorganismen wie der Pilz Aspergillus niger werden in zahlreichen Bioprozessen aufgrund ihrer Sekretionseigenschaften zur Produktion biotechnologischer Wertstoffe eingesetzt. Die Produktivität dieser Mikroorganismen wird dabei in hohem Maße von der morphologischen Ausprägung, als freies Myzel oder als aggregierte Biomasse in Form von Biopellets, beeinflusst (Abb. 1). Die myzelartige Ausprägung des Pilzes bedingt prozesstechnische Nachteile, wie z. B. eine hohe Viskosität der Kultivierungsbrühe und die damit verbundenen Probleme einer geringen Substratversorgung durch mangelnde Durchmischung. Bei pelletartigem Wachstum weist die Kultivierungsbrühe zwar Newtonsches Fließverhalten auf, jedoch können Nachteile in Bezug auf Substratlimitierungen im Inneren der Biopellets auftreten. Vor- und Nachteile der jeweili­gen morphologi­schen Ausprägung müssen daher für jeden biotechnologischen Prozess abgewogen werden. Die Morphologie des Pilzes wird ent­scheidend durch das Environom, d. h. die physikochemischen, hier vorrangig der pH-Wert, und die fluiddynamischen Kultivierungsbedingungen im Bioreaktor, beeinflusst.


b3

Abb. 1: A. niger in unterschiedlicher morphologischer Ausprägung (volumenbezogener Leistungseintrag P/V = 100 W m-3), a) Pelletstruktur nach einer Kultivierungsdauer von 32 h ausschließlich bei pH = 5,5, b) Myzelstruktur nach 24 h ausschließlich bei pH = 3, c) nach 8-stündiger Anzucht bei pH = 3, anschließendem Shift auf pH = 5,5 und einer weiteren Kultivierungsdauer von 24 h
 

Innerhalb des Teilprojekts B3 (Krull/Hempel) sollen nun die in den ursprünglichen Teilprojekten B2 (Hempel/Horn) und B3 (Hempel/Krull) entwickelten verfahrenstech­nischen und moleku­larbiologi­schen Methoden und Er­kenntnisse zum Einfluss des Environoms auf die Morphogenese des filamentösen Pilzes A. niger und die Produktion von Proteinen zu­sammengeführt werden. Übergeordnetes Ziel des Teilprojektes ist die ganzheitliche Modellbeschreibung der Kultivierung sowie die Optimierung der Produktbildung und -freisetzung in Prozessen mit filamentösen Mikroorganismen. Ausgehend von den Vorgängen innerhalb der Zelle bis zu den vorliegenden physikochemischen und fluiddynamischen Phänomenen auf makroskopischer Ebene, die die Morphologie des Pilzes nachhaltig beeinflussen, soll die Morphogenese der Myzelbildung bzw. der Pelletentstehung, über Primär- und Sekundäraggregation und weitere Aggregationsmechanismen, vollständig populationsdynamisch bilanziert und mit Hilfe unterschiedlicher Partikelgrößenmesstechniken verifiziert werden.

Weiterhin soll der Schritt zur Beschreibung der mechanischen Be­anspruchung vom bisher verwendeten nichtbiologischen Ton-Polymer-Flockensystem auf A. niger-Aggregate vollzogen werden. Dazu sollen die bislang mit Hilfe von Computional Fluid Dynamics (CFD) generierten fluiddynamischen Simulationsmethoden und -daten aus der Modellierung des Rührkesselreaktors nach Verifizierung über Particle Image Velocimetry (PIV) (Abb. 2) mit der Scherbelastung des bisher verwendeten Flockensys­tems gekoppelt werden. Die daraus resultierenden integralen Daten der mechani­schen Beanspruchung sollen mit lokalen Ergebnissen der Strömungssimulation abgeglichen werden, um ein fluiddynamisches Modell für die Beanspruchung filamentöser Mikroorganismen im Rührkesselreaktor zu entwickeln. Darüber hinaus ist beabsichtigt, die während der Kultivierung ablaufenden dynamischen Prozesse des Wachstums, der Aggregation und des Zerfalls innerhalb einer Populationsbilanzierung miteinander zu verknüpfen.

 

b3

Abb. 2: Vergleich von Simulations- (CFD, Farbkodierung) und PIV- Daten (Iso­linien): Turbulente kinetische Energie (TkE) in der Rührerblattebene

 

In weitergehenden Untersuchungen sollen die Produktbildung und ‑freisetzung sowie die Expression von Stress- und Morpho­genesemarkern mittels real time-PCR, Enzymaktivitätstests, Fluoreszenzmes­sungen bzw. ELISA-Technologie molekularbiolo­gisch analysiert und quantifiziert werden. Anhand der auf Transkriptions-, Translations- und Sekretionsebene gewonnenen Daten zur Produktbildung sollte es möglich sein, Engpässe auf dem Weg von der Genexpression über die Produktion bis zur Protein­freisetzung zu identifizieren. Zudem sollen makroskopisch sichtbare Wachstumserscheinungen bzw. Wachstumsanomalien und –limitierungen mit entsprechenden Genexpressiondaten vorhersagbar /werden. Die systembiologische Integration der so gewonnenen Daten erfolgt mit Hilfe zellulärer Modelle, die von den Teilprojekten B4 (Jahn/Nörtemann/Jänsch) und B9 (Münch/Schomburg) bereitgestellt und mit dem fluiddynamischen Modell gekoppelt werden.

 

<< zurück zum Überblick